“Sea” Sick Day…

“Sea” Sick Day…

Drake Passage.

Lat: 61° 01’ S, Long: 63° 34’ W

Wind: 30 Knt NE, Temp: 0° C (9 AM)

Although our return trip through the Drake Passage was not considered a bad one (I believe that Greg mentioned 1-3 meter seas), and despite the fact that I had my patch on and used the ReliefBand, I was feeling pretty poorly today.  I slept and/or laid down through breakfast AND lunch, ate only a couple of pieces of bread, slept again in the afternoon, and later had a cup of ice cream and two crackers.  I was wobbly and nauseous all day and night, which was certainly NO fun at all.

Thank goodness for the bread!

img_1643

We were on open water all day…and I spent very little time up in the lounge.  BUT, the night before, as we were heading toward the Drake, I had spent time outside on the deck and watched a whole lot of humpback whales gracefully maneuvering through the water…not too far from the port side of our ship.  It’s hard to capture their movement in a still photo, or even a video, but I will not forget this scene…almost like a farewell to Antarctica.

img_1583

img_1608

img_1624

One of our last views of snow-covered mountains and the Antarctic Peninsula…thick, creamy vanilla frosting layered on these ancient rocks. I love the cracks and crevasses, the way the snow can look soft, when it is quite solid, and the sounds that we’ve heard as ice and snow creaks and groans on its journey to topple into the sea.  Magic!

img_1611

Yesterday afternoon we had a very interesting and valuable session of sharing our various posters from the eleven Homeward Bound projects completed before and during our time on the ship.  We had been asked to hang them in a well-visited place on the MV Ushuaia, and someone in our group decided that the bathroom was a good spot, because everyone goes there eventually.  We just had to cram our whole project team into the bathroom in celebration of our work together and our awesome poster! I loved working with this project team!  Such inspiring and talented women, one and all…Dyan, Sandi, Shelley, Lauren, Kathleen, Merryn, Joanna, Colleen, and Joana.  We are “Mother Nature’s Daughters,” teaching about our planet in a myriad of ways, with passion, and commitment to learners of all ages and backgrounds, around the world!

img_1566

During our share-a-thon, everyone could circulate around the lounge area and learn more about the posters/projects and eventually each group shared a summary of their work.  Our committee rocked it!  Education outreach in so many methods and activities…all taking place simultaneously around the world.  More to come in the months ahead as well…as we spread the word far and wide about our Homeward Bound journey, leadership, and content information about Antarctica (and in some cases the Arctic, too!).

img_1569

A couple of my favorite posters…the first one below is from the Families Project (which also included friends and all support systems for us while we were on board the ship).  I really connected with this project because I have had such amazing support.  Not only did friends and family support me through my “Go Fund Me” campaign, but I have been opening letters and cards from friends and family each day that have encouraged me, inspired me, and have made me laugh.  THANK YOU to everyone who participated and sent something for me to open on the ship.  You are all fabulous and this has meant the world to me.

img_1570

Another poster shared photos of many of the Homeward Bounders shown in a leadership role.  “Leadership, Inspiration, Vision…”

img_1574

Another activity took place, which helped solidify networks and plans to collaborate in the months and years ahead.  Everyone had their own large sheet of paper…with name, expertise, what we would like to offer others and what others might be able to offer us.  It was magical to see everyone circulating around the lounge placing post-it notes on each other’s papers.  This activity emphasized the learning and growth that has taken place, friendships and networks being formed, and ways we can work together in the future. I know that as I move forward I have so much support from around the world.

img_1563

Finally, as the sun was setting…we said our final good-bye to Antarctica, sailing on to the Convergence (where the warm and cool waters meet and mix) and I headed into my cabin to prepare for crossing the Drake Passage.  I found this article that really helps explain the Antarctic Circumpolar Current…and I hope it helps you as well.

“By Emily Underwood 27 December 2016   Earth and Space Science News

Notorious among sailors for its strength and the rough seas it creates, the Antarctic Circumpolar Current (ACC) is the largest wind-driven current on Earth and the only ocean current to travel all the way around the planet. Now, researchers have found that the current transports 30% more water than previously thought. The revised estimate is an important update for scientists studying how the world’s oceans will respond to a warming climate.

The ACC transports massive amounts of water between the Atlantic, Indian, and Pacific oceans in an eastward loop. Just how much water has long been uncertain, however, because of the difficulty and expense of accurately measuring its flow.”

img_1659

img_1677

I’ll leave you with a rather peaceful video of our ship as it was making its way north last night…a bit of calm seas before the Drake!  Hoping tomorrow is a bit calmer and that I’m feeling more perky!

 

2 responses to ““Sea” Sick Day…

Leave a Reply

